Team Dover inducts new honorary commanders

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Stephani Barge
  • 436th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Thirty-eight local civic and business leaders were inducted into Team Dover's 2022 Honorary Commander program Oct. 22, 2021, during a luncheon at Dover Air Force Base, Delaware.


The Dover AFB Honorary Commander program helps members of the community understand the importance of the base and the Air Force's mission. The program first began at Dover AFB in 1992 as a way to match leaders from across the state with commanders from the 436th Airlift Wing, 512th AW, Air Force Mortuary Affairs Operations, Armed Forces Medical Examiner System, Joint Personal Effects Depot and the 373rd Training Squadron, Detachment 3. Along with educating community leaders about the base, this partnership also allows military commanders and their Airmen to learn more about Delaware and the local community.


Col. Matt Husemann, 436th Airlift Wing commander, opened the ceremony with words of welcome, encouraging honorary commanders to take full advantage of the program.


“Have fun and go out with the Airmen,” said Husemann. “Whether that’s changing a tire on the flight line or watching a military working dog demonstration...we want you to be as involved as possible because you bring a mindset to the fight that we don’t know.”


The ceremony's guest speaker, Maj. Sean Moriarty, Delaware State Police administrative officer and Air Mobility Commander civic leader, spoke about his experiences as a prior Dover AFB honorary commander and offered his take on the program’s value.


“The value of this... is not only in getting a firsthand look at how the Air Force mission is achieved every single day,” said Moriarty. “[Commanders] are going to share with you their knowledge, skills and abilities. And in return, they are going to ask you to provide your expertise to all of them.”  


The ceremony closed with Husemann leading an oath recited by all 38 newly selected honorary commanders, officially bringing them into the Team Dover family.


Patricia Isherwood, Bayhealth Oncology Service Line senior manager of operations and 436th Health Care Operations Squadron honorary commander, shared her excitement in joining the program for the first time.


“I feel extremely humbled and excited by this unique opportunity to serve our community in a new way,” said Isherwood. “I wanted to be a part of the program to experience the Dover AFB culture, to understand the mission and to learn different leadership styles from our military leaders. Through this program, I hope to create partnerships to better serve Dover AFB members and their families in our healthcare community.”


Team Dover's 2022 honorary commanders are:


- Mrs. Jennifer Rambo, Mission BBQ director of marketing, 436th AW CC 

- Mr. John Rappaport, Dover YMCA group vice president and executive director, 512th AW CC

- Mr. Tony Rohrer, Dover Downs Hotel general manager, 436th AW command chief

- Mr. Sean Healy, Healy, Long & Jevin Concrete Contractors vice president, 436th AW Vice CC

- Mrs. Cindy Christiansen, First Lady of the City of Dover and Towne Point Elementary School teacher, 512th AW key spouse

- Dr. Dina Vendetti, Central Dover Chamber of Commerce director of marketing and communications, 436th Operations Group

- Mr. Todd Stonesifer, The Moving Experience president and realtor, 512th OG

- Mr. Scott Connell, Merrill Lynch senior financial advisor and resident director, 436th Operations Support Squadron

- Mr. Jeffrey Benson, Black Male Initiative director, 3rd Airlift Squadron

- Mr. Jason Payne, Welch Elementary School principal, 9th AS

- Mr. Ray Bivens, Delaware State Parks director, 436th Mission Support Group

- Mr. Tom Horne, Chase Card Services managing director and chief operating officer, 512th MSG

- Mr. Jimmy Gallagher, Buffalo Wild Wings manager, 436th Force Support Squadron

- Mr. Charlie Vincent, Spur Impact executive director, 512th FSS

- Mr. Bill Conway, Century Engineering senior vice president, 436th Civil Engineer Squadron

- Sgt. Greg Earle, Delaware State Police sergeant of community outreach, 436th Security Forces Squadron

- Mr. Matt Wilson, Wilmington University associate professor, 436th Communications Squadron

- Mr. Timothy Bailey, Central Delaware Habitat for Humanity executive director, 436th Contracting Squadron

- Mr. John Martin, Thommen Medical USA senior territory sales manager, 436th Logistics Readiness Squadron

- Dr. Jim Wilson, Wilmington University vice president of academic affairs, 512th LRS

- Mr. Donald Chupp, Fireside Partners chief executive officer, 436th Maintenance Group

- Ms. Tracey Miller, Dedicated to Women director of marketing and community engagement, 512th MXG

- Ms. Heather McTheny, Loft Realty administrative assistant, 436th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

- Mr. Kevin Yencer, Yencer Builders owner, 436th Maintenance Squadron

- Ms. Lauren Irby, Del Electric Cooperative manager of public relations and community outreach, 736th AMXS

- Ms. Denee Crumrine, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield Delaware corporate communications manager, 512th AMXS

- Ms. Heather Contant, Delaware Municipal Electric Corp. director of government and community relations, 436th Aerial Port Squadron

- Dr. Eric Gloss, JCHA physician surveyor, 436th Medical Group

- Dr. Justin Conner, Growing Bones Pediatric and Neuromuscular Institute private practice medical doctor, 436th Operational Medical Readiness Squadron 

- Ms. Patty Isherwood, Bayhealth senior manager of oncology operations, 436th Health Care Operations Squadron

- Mrs. Tiffany Taylor, Post Acute Medical Rehab outpatient program coordinator, 436th Medical Support Squadron

- Mr. Christopher Locke, Lang Development Group general counsel and senior vice president, 436th AW director of staff

- Mr. Jay Jones, Diamond State Financial Group wealth manager and financial advisor, 436th Comptroller Squadron

- Rev. Christopher Kandracki, Southside Baptist Church pastor, 512th Chaplain Corps

- Ms. Sital Soni, ELM Strategies owner and human resources consultant, Air Force Mortuary Affairs Operations

- Mr. Alan Garcia, Premier Martial Arts owner, Armed Forces Medical Examiner System

- Mrs. Brianna Felts, First Command Financial Services financial advisor, Joint Personal Effects Depot

- Mrs. Cecilia Jones, Myers Realty real estate agent, Military Affairs Committee member, 373rd Training Squadron, Detachment 3


More details about Team Dover's Honorary Commander program can be found here: