512th Airlift Wing   Right Corner Banner
Join the AF Reserve

News > Liberty Wing announces 2012 annual award winners
Previous ImageNext Image
Annual award winners 2012
512th Airlift Wing Airman of the Year
Download HiRes
Liberty Wing announces 2012 annual award winners

Posted 3/4/2013   Updated 3/5/2013 Email story   Print story


by Senior Airman Joe Yanik
512AW Public Affairs

3/4/2013 - Dover, Del. -- The 512th Airlift Wing announced the 2012 annual award winners during the wing's 5th annual awards banquet March 2, 2013, at the Rollins Hall in Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, Dover, Del.

The annual award winners are as follows:
Capt. John Glass, 512th AMXS, is the 512th AW Company Grade Officer of the Year
Master Sgt. Brian Gallagher, 512th AMXS, is the 512th AW Senior NCO of the Year
Tech Sgt. Jacob Tieman, 512th Civil Engineer Squadron, is the 512th AW NCO of the Year
Staff Sgt. Daniel Grove, 326th Airlift Squadron, is the 512th AW Airman of the Year
Gregory Funk, 512th FSS, is the 512th AW Civilian of the Year

The event began with an introduction of distinguished guests and honorary commanders by masters of ceremonies, Capt. Otis Wilson and Master Sgt. Michael D'Erasmo of the 512th Maintenance Group. Following the introductions were the posting of the colors, a rendition of the National Anthem sung by Master Sgt. Charles Boyer, 512th Maintenance Group, and a moment to remember current American prisoners of war and service members missing in action.

After dinner, Brig. Gen. Udo K. McGregor, military deputy director of the Air Force Strategic Plans and Programs division, Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Washington D.C., took to the stage as the event's guest speaker.

In his address to the more than 240 attendees, McGregor spoke of the importance of recognizing top performing reservists, even if they may prefer to simply do their jobs and avoid the limelight.

"In the awards packages I saw were some amazing things," said McGregor, citing instances when the Airmen being recognized volunteered for multiple deployments and for duties assisting the dignified transfers of fallen service members.

We recognize these award winners because as good as the Air Force is, there are some (Airmen) who are better," he added.

Staff Sgt. Daniel Grove, recipient of the awards for Airman of the 4th Quarter and Airman of the Year for 2012, said he credits the support of his civilian employer and his Reserve supervisor for allowing him to take on the extra duties which set him apart from other award nominees.

The event host, 512th AW Commander Col. Raymond A. Kozak, concluded the evening by congratulating the award winners.

He also thanked McGregor, the attendees and the reservists' families who support the Liberty Wing Airmen who "bring it".

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside the 512th AW

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     USA.gov     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act